yankees in 7

I grew up a Mets fan, but as any of my friends will tell you, I bleed New York. So I’ll root for the Yankees over basically anyone but the Mets.

This is surprising to many, as loyalties come out during the World Series. The current accepted narrative is that the Yankees are The Man and represent the team money can buy, with the highest payroll in baseball while everyone else is the Underdog.

Let me tell you, baseball has almost always been about money, for just about everyone involved. Just watch Eight Men Out if you don’t believe me. The Phillies as little guy? Please.

The only people not in it for the money are the fans, it seems to me. Their loyalty can run deep. I have tremendous respect, in fact, for geographic loyalty.

Your team is your team – win or lose – because that’s who you grew up with. It’s a concept that seems to be eroding in the era of globalization. Evidenced by all the Red Sox logos I see in the Bay Area (there can’t be THAT many transplanted Bostonians, can there?).

Here’s a mathematical illustration to recap how, as a New Yorker, I see the World (and by extension, the World Series):

Mets>Yankees>Everyone Else>Red Sox

1 Comment

Filed under baseball

One response to “yankees in 7

  1. Go Yankees!
    I was up last night writing my novel with the NaNoWriMo challenge, to the soundtrack of the Yankee win. Unlike you,Paul, no Mets allowed in my family! Now I am the only lukewarm fan. Baseball is way too slow for me. To add to this, Tuvia is totally disconnected from the world of sports, which removes me even further, but how can you turn away from the excitement of the World Series? If the NY Knicks ever got close to an NBA win, I’d be there as well.
    So bravo to you for returning to your NY roots!
    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

